Done!!

At last. Ivory is ready for the water. It sits in the basement in its Flag Blue and Cream set off by the varnished gunwales and seats. I spliced up a painter from a left-over length of rope and screwed in the oarlock holders.  This week I will attempt a pair or oars. The ones that I had been using were made for  Swallow 10 years ago or more and are just too short for the 50″ beam of the pram.

Now if the weather would only cooperate a little. Last night we had a dump of snow the world is white again  so it has taken the edge off getting the boat into the water.  even if I did there is nothing for it to be tied up to as the work of getting the docks and floats into the water will not begin until this week.

Now that I have finished this boat I have been speculating on what I might build next winter. I am leaning towards a rowing boat about 10 – 14 feet in length (longer would be difficult  to manoeuver up the stairs ) that I could use for sculling. The Selway-Fisher catalogue has a couple of nice designs and I have put a message up on the S-F discussion group asking for suggestions.

Leave a Reply

